Avignon 2013

Space
Avignon 2013

This year, for its 67th edition, the festival included four plays and an exhibition which took an often critical look at the economy.

"Par les villages" (“Through the Villages” by Stanislas Nordey, based on a text by Peter Handke) tells the story of a reunion between two brothers and a sister after they inherit a family home. The play is a collision of two worlds: the rural world of labourers and workers, and the world of the city and its intellectuals. From 6 to 13 July.

"L’argent" (“Money” by Anne Théron based on a text by Christophe Tarkos) examines the different words used to describe money. In a world where money is omnipresent and increasingly virtual, the play tries to show how it has become an inseparable part of our lives. From 22 to 25 July.

In "Lagos Business Angels", the Rimini Protokoll theatre company transforms the theatre into a huge trade fair. The aim? To organise a meeting between audience members and “experts” on the Nigerian market, and break down received wisdom on North-South economic relations. From 14 to 16 July.

"Faust I + II" (the full version of Goethe’s famous tragic play, produced by Nicolas Stemann): written at the start of the Industrial Revolution, Goethe’s Faust explores the theme of financial and ecological disasters. “A dizzying theatre journey into the psychological, political and economic depths of humanity”. From 11 to 14 July.

Lastly, "Le jeu de l’oie du spectacle vivant", (“The Game of the Goose in Theatre”), is an exhibition-trail designed by Julien Fournet, that looks at the economic workings behind the theatre, its production methods and ups and downs. From 16 to 24 July.

For those who want to learn more about the economy, money and the world of business and finance in theatre, the Cité de L’Economie et de la Monnaie has compiled two bibliographies: "Le théâtre de l’entreprise” (“The theatre of business") and "Argent et finance au théâtre” (“Money and finance in the theatre”).

To find out more, click on 2013 edition of the Avignon Festival
 


Published on 5 September 2013.

Avignon 2013

Space
Avignon 2013

Cette année, pour la 67e édition du festival, quatre pièces et une exposition, notamment, mettent en scène le monde économique, de manière souvent critique.

" Par les villages " (de Stanislas Nordey sur un texte de Peter Handke) est le récit des retrouvailles entre deux frères et une sœur à l’occasion d’un héritage. La comparaison de deux mondes : celui des ouvriers, des travailleurs, et celui de la ville, des intellectuels. Les représentations se tiennent du 6 au 13 juillet.

" L’argent " (de Anne Théron sur un texte de Christophe Tarkos) aborde le thème des mots de l’argent. La pièce tente de nous faire prendre conscience de notre dépendance à cet argent omniprésent, bien que de plus en plus dématérialisé. Pièce en représentation du 22 au 25 juillet.

Dans " Lagos Business Angels ", la compagnie Rimini Protokoll transforme le théâtre en un vaste salon de commerce. Objectif ? Organiser une rencontre entre des « experts » du marché économique nigérien et le public du festival afin d’abolir les idées reçues sur les rapports économiques Nord-Sud. Du 14 au 16 juillet.

" Faust I + II " (l’intégrale de la fameuse pièce de Goethe, mise en scène par Nicolas Stemann) : écrite aux débuts de la révolution industrielle, cette pièce permet d’évoquer les catastrophes financières et écologiques. « Un voyage théâtral dans les profondeurs psychologiques, politiques et économiques de l’humanité ». Pièce représentée du 11 au 14 juillet.

Enfin, " Le jeu de l’oie du spectacle vivant ", une exposition-parcours de Julien Fournet, donne à voir le fonctionnement de l’économie du spectacle vivant, les méthodes de production, les vicissitudes de ce secteur d’activité. Du 16 au 24 juillet

Et, pour tous ceux qui veulent en savoir plus sur l’évocation de l’économie, de l’argent, de l’entreprise et de la finance au théâtre, nous signalons les deux bibliographies "Le théâtre de l’entreprise" et "Argent et finance au théâtre" que la Cité de l’Économie et de la Monnaie consacre à ce thème.

Pour plus d’informations sur l’édition 2013 du Festival d’Avignon
 


Publié le 4 juillet 2013.