Back to the timeline


Treaty of Rome establishing the EEC and the common market

6 countries in 1957, 27 countries today. In 1951, when six European countries signed the treaty on coal and steel, two highly strategic sectors for armament, Jean Monnet declared that Europe would not be made all at once, but « through concrete achievements which first create a de facto solidarity ». It is also in this spirit that the Treaty of Rome was signed on 25 March 1957, establishing a European Economic Community at the time with the same six countries (France, Germany, Italy, Belgium, the Netherlands and Luxembourg). By fostering intra-Community trade, creating common policies or harmonizing national policies, the objective is to foster interdependencies that help to forge a European identity.

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation des cookies - en savoir +